reply

Posted

print

favorite this post $1400 Easy living in the East Village (near NYU, Union Square, and more) (East Village) hide this posting unhide

 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
East 15th Street at 1st Avenue

(google map)

available mar 1

cats are OK - purrr
dogs are OK - wooof
furnished
apartment
no laundry on site
no smoking
street parking
no private bath
private room

Hey!

I have one bedroom available for sublet in my 3-bedroom East Village / Union Square apartment. The apartment is a nice-sized space: an artsy, bohemian feel to it and colorfully decorated in the common areas (kitchen, living room and bathroom).

Currently, it's myself, my dog and our laid-back, Oregonian roommate, Zach . A graduate from Columbia's MFA Film program, I am a freelance filmmaker with an in-and-out of the apartment schedule. I generally keep to myself when I'm at home, as I like the time to be alone and decompress. Most of my time I'm cooking dinner, sleeping, writing / working in my room, and spending time with my dog. Similarly, the other roommate works long hours and just needs a place to recuperate and do his thing, without feeling the need for extensive small talk or hanging out.

We don't entertain or do serious socializing in the apartment and neither of us regularly has guests over for long hang-outs in the common area. The size, layout of the apartment, and schedules of three people trying to have regular guests over unfortunately just gets to be a bit too much and intrusive on the other housemates' need for privacy and routine. Respect for personal space, privacy, and keeping the apartment a place for the people who reside here, first and foremost, is essential.

ABOUT ME:

* Female (30s). Friendly, but quiet. I like to be solitary when at home. I'm considerate and conscientious of my housemates, in all regards though. I'm tidy and apply the "common sense" rule to cleanliness, etc. I won't lose my mind if there's dish in the sink, but overflowing trash is problematic, for example.
* MFA Film grad school alum, so still have the remnants of that lifestyle - a night owl routine and usually do work at a cafe (also, occasional shifts barista'ing) and get home late. By then, I need to just do my thing, which is walk the dog, cook dinner, go to room and write/read. I count on a calm and predictable "refuge" where I can decompress and have my personal space. I'm not much of a socializer around the apartment and prefer to housemates who are looking for the same sort of personal space and boundaries.
* I cook at home nearly every night, and it's my bit of meditation activity. I value the solitary time to reflect, listen to a podcast, chill out in silence.
* As a roommate, I'm not overbearing, needy or nosy. I'm not the type to pounce on you the second you walk in the door to chat your ear off late at night or early in the morning. I DO enjoy getting to know my housemates though, and we always find time to check-in at a time when everyone feels up for it...coffee, dinner, whatever.

OTHER ROOMMATE:

* Late 20's, professional male working a "typical 9-7pm" job in film post-production. He works long hours and prefers the home to be a quiet, calming environment, as well.
* Regarding living and socializing habits, he doesn't entertain or have guests over either, and isn't much for small-talk.
* Not much of a cooker, so no competing for kitchen time there! More of a microwaver, at best.

THE ROOM for RENT:

* RENT is $1,400 per month. There are a few random odds and ends (bookshelf, lamps, etc) available in the room, as well as a full sized bed. If you have a bed you'd like to move in, we can deal with those logistics, no problem.
* Utilities (ConEd / Internet) are NOT included and are additional above the rent. They are split 3-ways amongst the roommates.
* Room is available beginning MARCH 1st, for a negotiable amount of time. The short-term sublease minimum is 5-6 months. For long-term options, we can discuss your situation and needs!
* ONE MONTH'S RENT refundable security deposit is required *in advance* of move-in and the tenant will sign a sublease agreement for the agreed upon duration of time. The security deposit is returned in full, upon move-out, provided the room is in good condition, no damages, etc.

YOU'RE PROBABLY WONDERING...

* SPACE: There's a living room, full-sized kitchen, shared bathroom. Kitchen is furnished with microwave, pots/pans/dishes, etc.
* BUILDING: Historic brownstone building with lovely NYC charm - you feel like you're living in a real New York City neighborhood and a "home" versus a generic, sterile condo with no character. Great neighbors in the building - it's a real community!
* FLOOR: Apartment is on 6TH Floor of a walk-up. Not always ideal, but hey...consider it your daily workout! NO ELEVATOR!!
* STREET: Building is located across the street from a nice park - having a bit of nature right across the street is wonderful in the spring.
* TRANSPO: The 1st Avenue L-train is 1/2 a block around the corner, so there's easy access to Brooklyn and the Westside, as well as all uptown/downtown train lines. The crosstown buses are on 14th Street, as well.
* NEIGHBORHOOD: Plenty of groceries, delis, drugstores, laundries, etc. within a block in every direction. Some of the best restaurants and cafes in NYC, in our 'hood!
* GUESTS: the apartment is not a hostel for friends/visitors to sleep in the common area. Occasional visitors in the housemates' rooms are fine. The logistics of 3 roommates, 2 dogs, one bathroom and a myriad of other overnight guests just gets to be a bit overwhelming for everyone, so clear communications with roommates about visitors ahead of time is important.
* OTHER-HALVES: Absolutely NO live-in significant others.
* DOGS // PETS: I have an 9-year old Boxer. He's the most important thing to me and keeping a happy, safe living environment for him is priority above all else. He's clean, well-behaved, house-trained, doesn't bark, and a love bug. He really just own thing when home alone...usually just sleeping. He gets free reign of the apartment during the day, so keeping bedroom/bathroom doors shut is important. Not leaving anything chewable around, not leaving garbage out, and keeping ALL food out of reach is extremely important. He's had issues with swallowing things (3 stomach obstruction surgeries), so it's something I'm neurotic about being aware of and preventing.

**An additional DOG (or cat) is WELCOMED!! We're happy to consider another furry roommate.**

If any of this sounds like a fit or is of interest, please contact me ASAP to discuss further and check out the place. Happy to share additional pictures, details, etc.

Thanks for considering.
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 6494478836

posted:

updated:

best of [?]